Patchwork Shops in New South Wales

16 May

On my recent travels to Australia I couldn’t help but find some patchwork shops to feed the fabric obsession!

I managed to find two. Not many you might say but I did have to manage this round my other half’s indifference to all things fabric. My friend’s husband wasn’t much better either!

The first one I came across was on a trip to the Blue Mountains in a lovely town called Leura. Not only a fabulous patchwork shop there but lots of lovely gift and clothes shops as well. Even more reason to get huge groans from the spouse!

The shop was called Picklemouse Corner
and it had four rooms full of fabric and haberdashery- bliss! I was so pleased to be able to pick up some lovely aborigine designs and a koala bear pattern – courtesy of my dear friend!

It was a fascinating shop because not only did it sell all things patchwork, it also housed a vintage clothes shop which sold kimonos, and they also sold fudge!?

The second shop was Patchwork on Pittwater, the town where my friend lived.

It was a fabulous shop with a large workroom where you could just go and sit and sew using the machines that were available or join a workshop. Plus, there was the most amazing selection of fabric for sale. You couldn’t really not buy any!

pittwater shop

The woman who owned the shop was busy making a quilt for a wedding present. It was the most beautiful fabric with Kookaburra’s on it.

cookaboro patchwork web

Only two shops but perhaps enough – I didn’t really need anymore fabric anyway!

Monica Dennis

Leave a Reply

